Whenever I attend a conference, The Wife assumes that it’s all fun and games. She has this vision of the typical conference being a vacation. She couldn’t be farther from the truth!

Usually, no matter what conference I attend, I would much rather be at work then at the conference. It’s hard work attending a conference. Long hours, constantly having to be friendly and “on,” networking with everyone you can, trying to carve out some time to visit the exhibitors and learn about new and exciting products or services, being away from home, sleeping in a hotel bed that is nowhere near as comfortable as yours, eating banquet food, feet hurting from standing in a booth all day, or just trying to stay in touch with the office so you don’t return to massive fires are a few of the inconveniences of attending a conference.

Don’t get me wrong, I think conferences are wonderful tools to stay up to speed with industry or even to scope out new and exciting opportunities. I just come home from them more tired than I would a typical day in the office.

The Wife refuses to understand how difficult attending a conference can be. Oh well, maybe one of these days I’ll figure out how to take her along, so she can see that it isn’t just a three day binge of prime cut steaks, good scotch, and booth babes. Yes, there is some of that, but usually it’s at the end of a 9 hour day walking around an exhibit hall glad handing everyone.

