This week I’m taking The Girl on her first real campus tour, to Oklahoma State University (OSU).

oklahoma-state

She picked OSU to tour first because it’s towards the bottom of her list of potential schools. This is our test run to see how the whole process works. So far, I’m pretty impressed! From the photos, the campus looks beautiful and the academic package for the degree she’s interested in is top notch.

We booked the tour through the OSU website. There was a reasonably long questionnaire that we had to fill out (she was supposed to do it, but I filled it in). The questions were smart and I can see how they’ll be used for target marketing. Lots of stuff about her interests and preferences.

I guess these days the schools are doing everything they can to data mine on prospective students. Why not? If someone is interested enough to come for a visit, get all the info you can about them! I’m sure she’ll be inundated with lots of follow-up information specifically targeted to the interests she selected. To be honest, it’s already started, she’s getting emails from the school she said she was most interested in, inviting her to come for a visit or to attend various events.

I’m not so sure that I want her heading out of state, simply for the cost factor. However, OSU has the degree she wants and a great reputation within the corresponding industry. Plus,the school is within 5 hours of home. So, it’s not so close she’ll be home every weekend, but not so far away that we can’t pop in for a visit (and maybe hit a football game or two!).

This whole college tour thing is daunting. When I went through it I was looking for the hottest coeds, most comfortable dorms, and a “college-like” atmosphere – think Animal House. Her criteria is totally different than mine. She’s super serious about this and has already made a list of questions to ask, areas on campus she wants to visit, and people she’d like for us to meet if we can. It’s totally crazy. Hopefully with her awesome preparation she’ll avoid going to the wrong school – like I did. The coeds were super hot, but my degree is worth less than the paper it’s printed on.

The Wife is the driving force behind all of this. She wants The Girl to make the best choice possible and preparation is critical. I guess I’m still somewhat in denial that my baby girl will be going to college soon. I did buy her a new, very sharp knife to keep in her boot. So, I’m preparing her for something. The personal security of my favorite coed at college is extremely important to me. Watch out college boys, she’ll fuck you up!

I’ll let you know how it goes after we return. It’ll probably be next week sometime since I’m going camping again this weekend. Should be the last camping trip for this year, if I’m lucky.

Let me know if you have any tips or recommendations for the tour. I’m going to follow along while she takes the lead. I’ll be easy to spot, I’ll be the old guy ogling all of the hot coeds.

oklahoma_state_university_athletics_logo_four_colors-svg

 

