I had to stay home from work today because I’m totally sick. The thermometer is running in the high 90’s/low 100’s, I’ve got chills, and the thought of food makes my stomach flip upside down.

My philosophy has always been that the best way to combat an illness is with sleep. Any time I get sick, you’ll find me sacked out in bed, doing my best to get rest and fight off whatever is ailing me. This morning though, no matter what I did, I couldn’t go to sleep. The normal covering combination of a sheet and blanket was leaving me shivering and unable to sleep. I added a heavy fleece blanket, the one we usually add to our blanket setup for winter. Nope, still no good. Nothing was working, so I had to go extreme.

Yep, I did it. I took my blanket combo to the highest level. I added a sleeping bag to my blanket setup. It was my last resort and it worked perfectly. Finally, I had found some relief! Well, mostly.

No matter what I did, no matter how I curled up or nestled into the blankets, I could not get my hands or feet totally warm. Sure, I wasn’t shivering anymore, but my hands and feet still felt like they were immersed in ice-water.

What’s your go-to move when you have chills? Is there some tried and true trick you have for keeping warm when your body is fighting the good fight?

Usually my sleeping bags are tucked away and difficult to get to. I was lucky this time, The Boy and I had gone camping last weekend and I hadn’t yet put the bags away. I may have to leave one sleeping bag out for the upcoming winter. It was super handy having that bag to toss on top of my other coverings when I was close to losing hope of ever being warm again.

It’s just about lunch time now and I’m feeling much better. The morning nap definitely helped (or at least that’s what I’m attributing my current good feeling to). The thought of food still sickens me, but that will come around eventually.

Do you know what’s really strange? Even though the thought of food is unpleasant right now, I keep thinking about the great stuff I tried at the State Fair of Texas the other day. I think I could eat one of those Chicken Pot Pie Pockets with little trouble right about now. Maybe the smell would repulse me if I actually had one, but for now, it does sound pretty good.

