Last night was “Back to School” night at The Boy’s middle school. In light of recent events, I was quite eager to meet with his teachers, coaches, and the administration. I’m still torn up the The Boy got detention for failing to complete a homework assignment after breaking his arm at school.

I had three things planned:

  1. I wanted to ask his teacher about the detention and why she wouldn’t relent on it.
  2. I wanted to ask his coaches about their lack of interest in listening to The Boy’s complaints about his arm hurting – and their outright telling him that he needed to “suck it up.”
  3. I wanted to ask the principal if it is the school’s policy to not notify parents that their child was injured during the course of a class. I also wanted to get his thoughts on situations 1 and 2.

And I didn’t get to ask any of those questions! Right before Back to School Night started, I got a text from The Boy with an impassioned plea to not ask any questions. Looking at it from his perspective, I completely understand. He doesn’t want me to upset the apple cart or cause any unintentional harm. As a teen boy, the last thing he wants is to be in the spotlight for things that might be uncomfortable. Still, I was wracking my brain to try and figure out a more tactful way to get those questions answered.

Then, about 10 minutes in to Back to School Night, I get a text from The Wife. Her message is a strong encouragement that if I ever want to enjoy sex with her again, I will avoid those three questions. Seeing how I like sex, I was forced to abandon my quest. DAMMIT!

In the end, it’s probably better for The Boy, and all involved, that I didn’t ask my questions. The last thing I would want to do is cause The Boy any undue angst, being a teenager involves enough emotional drama without Dad’s help.

Besides, the teacher in question 1 actually mentioned in her presentation that she has a well earned reputation for giving detentions. Apparently it’s her signature move! At least she owns it.

I’m still trying to figure out a nice way to get the principal’s feedback. I’m open to any suggestions!

