So, The Boy has gotten me hooked on Pokémon Go! We’ve spent each of our port visits seeking different Pokémon to add to our growing rosters.

This has actually become a near obsession for me. The Boy wants to build the best team, is concerned with evolving and powering up his Pokémon, etc. Not me. I ‘m more focused on finding and catching the Pokémon. I have no illusions about controlling a gym or becoming some great player. I just want to seek out more and more Pokémon. 

Honestly, I have no clue what I’m doing half the time. There are next to zero instructions provided. If it wasn’t for The Boy, I’d be completely lost. Somehow he knows exactly what to do and where to go. I can have my phone out and not find a single Pokémon. The Boy, on the other hand, captures 3 Pokémon within minutes of taking over my phone. What the hell? I want to catch some too!

pokemongobattle-800x671

I’ve done one gym battle at the urging of The Boy so far. It went horribly wrong. For some reason I had really crappy Pokémon lined up for the battle and got my butt handed to me. The Boy told me that I needed to adjust my team, but, without any instructions, I had no clue how to do so. Oh well! Like I said, I’m in it for the fun of capturing the Pokémon, not attempting to become some grand master.

The good news is that I just recently started playing and am already Level 7. What does that mean? I don’t know, but The Boy keeps telling me it’s really good. He’s also super impressed that I have a Pidgeot that has 401 combat power. Again, no clue what that means, but The Boy is happy.

To me, the best thing about Pokémon Go is that The Boy and I are having fun together. He talks to me about the Pokémon he has captured and wants to be involved with my progress. It’s lots of fun seeing him get excited when I capture something cool. Father/son bonding courtesy of Pokémon Go!

