At work we’re required to use Microsoft Internet Explorer as our browser, which has MSN as the default home page. The MSN page usually updates the stories daily, with the featured stories on the slider updating several times per day. Of course I suspect that MSN tries to tailor the featured stories based on the history of my searches and clicks.

For the past four days my featured story has been Gwyneth Paltrow opening up about co-parenting with Chris Martin. Why? I have never searched for Gwyneth Paltrow at work. I don’t click on gossip sites. Did People Magazine pay for this story to be featured for the entire week? It’s the fucking #1 item in the slider, what the hell? I can’t imagine that Goopy is that popular.

Paltrow

This has nothing to do with anything I’ve shown any interest in. The majority of my search & click history is sports related. Is MSN trying to say that people with heavy interests in sports should be concerned about Gwyneth Paltrow’s parenting style? What are they trying to tell me? Can I please get a new feature story that I might be willing to click on?

