Last week I was travelling through San Francisco. As I was walking down one of the many crowded streets, I bumped in to a few people. Didn’t really think much of it, that sort of thing happens on a crowded street in a city like San Francisco.

After arriving at the vendor’s office, he handed me his business card. I reached into my pocket, finding only my hotel room key. My business card holder was GONE!

Yep, someone on the mean streets of San Fran picked my pocket. Fortunately, all they walked away with was a stack of my business cards, along with several cards from different vendors I had met during my travels. I wonder how pissed the thief was when they discovered they had nabbed the wrong thing.

I can totally see how someone might mistake my business card holder for a wallet. It was a nice leather card holder, thick with business cards. It was just about the same size as a wallet and was probably making a nice wallet-like bulge in my pocket.

9649

Oh well! Thank goodness it wasn’t my actual wallet. That would have been much, much worse!

I really liked that business card holder. It was a gift from my father-in-law when I was still dating his daughter. Perhaps it was a subtle suggestion to get off my ass and find a job (very likely) or just an extra holder he had lying around. Either way, I’m sad it’s gone.

Now what do I do? Do I go and buy a new business card holder? If so, do I go back to leather? What would you do? My next big event is coming up in June, so I have to make a decision soon!

What do you think the chances are that the thief will return the card holder to me? My guess is that he or she just dropped it in the nearest trash bin upon discovering it wasn’t a wallet. My fingers are crossed, you never know!

