This morning I made my weekly pilgrimage to my local Chick-fil-A for a 4 count of Chick-n-Minis and a large Dr. Pepper with light ice when I came to a sudden realization – Chick-fil-A is my own personal version of the bar Cheers.

CHEERS, (from left): Woody Harrelson, Kelsey Grammer, Paul Wilson, John Ratzenberger, George Wendt,
CHEERS, (from left): Woody Harrelson, Kelsey Grammer, Paul Wilson, John Ratzenberger, George Wendt, 1982-93. ©Paramount Television / courtesy Everett Collection

While it’s not yet to the point where I walk in and the assembled masses shout “John!” in greeting, it’s getting pretty damn close.

This morning when I walked in, the lady behind the counter asked if I wanted my “regular.” She rang it up exactly as I would have ordered it – 4 count of Chick-n-minis and a large Dr. Pepper light ice – without me saying a word. Then, while assembling my order, she said, “We can’t forget your two Chick-fil-A sauce packets!” She KNEW! Just one of my many weird quirks is that I can’t eat Chick-n-Minis without dunking them and coating them in Chick-fil-A sauce and the counterlady KNEW it! Fair or freaky?

minis

Finally, after money changed hands and my tray was presented to me, she said, “Enjoy your day John.” I didn’t give her my name this morning and I don’t wear a name tag. She remembered me from my numerous previous visits! I was stunned!

The question is, should I stop going there? They know me and my habits now. Are they getting too personal? Has it become A RELATIONSHIP? They know my first name!!!!!!! AAAAAHHHHH!!!! I must change my Wednesday routine now!!!!

Okay, really, is this so bad? I walk in, they have my order ready to go, I pay, and eat. It’s the ultimate in convenience. I don’t even have to say anything other than, “Yep” and “Thank you.” Hmm….

Of course, the down side is that this is Chick-fil-A. If it was some high-end steak house or Five Star restaurant I would be completely celebrating the fact that they know my name, not wondering if I need to change my routine.

Do you have a favorite haunt that knows you? I could do a lot worse than Chick-fil-A, especially this location. The people at the Preston Road and Highway 121 location I frequent are super nice and make a good breakfast. They run the store the way I would want it run if I were the owner. It’s a good group of people! I guess that resolves it, I’ll keep going there on Wednesdays – at least until I  walk in and everyone shouts, “John!”

Now, why the hell don’t the people at the McDonald’s I frequent with The Boy on Saturday mornings for Pokémon Club know my weekly order yet? Slackers!

