This weekend was GLORIOUS! The Wife and The Girl were out of town, leaving The Boy and me up to our own devices. That meant we spent the weekend glued to the couch. We did NOTHING and it was spectacular. As Peter said in Office Space, “I did nothing. I did absolutely nothing, and it was everything that I thought it could be.”

Office_Space
My description of this weekend.

The biggest activity we engaged in was going out to eat at The Boy’s favorite places. We hit Cici’s, Denny’s, and Steak ‘n Shake during our weekend of laziness. We slept in, we played Minecraft, we ate Starburst Mini candy, we watched the NCAA Tournament, we stayed up late, ate Little Caesars pizza, you name the best way to spend a lazy weekend, we did it!

The Downside of Laziness

Other than the usual downsides of slothfulness, we hit the wall this morning. Flipping the switch from being a bump on a log to an active, contributing member of society has been challenging. Getting up this morning was tough for both me and The Boy. Neither one of us wanted to do it.

I have not confirmed this with The Boy, but I know getting started on any of my work projects has been extremely challenging. I don’t want to do ANYTHING today. Work is piling up in front of my eyes, emails rolling in, and my attention span is absolutely zero.

Has this happened to you? You spend a spectacular weekend on the couch, watching TV, lazing around, only to find the return to usefulness a major challenge? Man, today is working me over, hard.

Doing It Again

Would I do it again? Hell yeah! In fact, this weekend I have Friday off for Good Friday. The Wife is working and The Kids have a makeup day at school. It might not be the entire weekend, but Friday will be spent anchoring the couch to the earth. I don’t want it to fly off into space! It will be an amazing day – at least until 2:30 when The Wife gets home. Maybe I’ll have changed into clothes by then. Nah, who am I kidding? I’ll still be in my boxers watching the NCAA Tournament in full HD stuffing my face from the bowl of Pop-Secret Movie Theater Butter popcorn on the coffee table.

It will be another GLORIOUS day!

