It’s the week of Spring Break and it’s raining. I feel bad for the kids. What a crappy way to spend the week – stuck indoors.

Originally I was planning on taking the kids to Six Flags over Texas on Thursday, but right now the forecast calls for a 90% chance of rain. Instead they’ll either spend the day at home, or we’ll head to an alternate indoor location, like the Perot Museum.

I completely understand that there’s a very good possibility that Six Flags will still be open on Thursday. I’m just not willing to spend the day fighting crowds in the rain. I’m sorry, I’m too old for that crap.

Will the kids be upset? Of course! But they will survive. And, honestly, I know that if I was to take them to a rainy Six Flags, they would do nothing but complain about the rain all day. I would counter with a positive missive, perhaps something about how short the lines are because of the rain, but it wouldn’t matter. They’d still complain and I would be miserable.

That’s really the key when you get down to it. It’s not because of the rain or the hour drive, each way, to get to Six Flags or the ridiculous price ($52!!!!) to walk through the gates. The real, honest to God reason, for not going to Six Flags is so I don’t have to listen to their complaining for the entire day. That’s the long and short of it. Anything to avoid 8 hours of incessant bitching about things I can’t control.

We’ll probably end up going to Six Flags when they get out of school in June. Then I’ll just have to listen to their complaints about it being too hot. Shit, I can’t win!

