Like millions of other people, I spent my Sunday evening watching the 2016 Oscars broadcast. And, like millions of others, I have to share my hot takes below.

BORING!

That’s my one-word review. I thought the entire show was ridiculously boring. None of the celebrities were willing to step outside of their comfort zone, and the two who attempted something offbeat, Sacha Baron Cohen and Sarah Silverman, ended up failing miserably. The memorable moments were few and far between. Gone are the days of Jack Palance’s one-armed push-ups or Sally Field’s “You like me, you really like me!” acceptance speech. We’re locked into a world of corporate responsibility and a focus on brand marketability. Blah!

Oscar Host Chris Rock

Overall, I thought Chris did a fine job as host. He definitely gave the Motion Picture Academy grief over the lack of African American nominees. I never saw “Creed” or “Straight Outta Compton” so I have no frame of reference for the performances. I can’t say that any actor or actress “deserved” to be nominated. The lack of diversity was appalling and Chris definitely needed to call Hollywood out, which he did. Again, and again, and again, and again, and again….

We get it. The commentary was excellent during the opening monologue, but then quickly became repetitive. Chris is way better than he showed last night, it was a bit disappointing. Plus, he completely forgot to include Asian and Latino cultures in his ongoing pleas for diversity. If we’re going to tackle this problem, then let’s approach it from all angles and resolve it once and for all.

The Misses

Continuing with Chris, his Asian kid joke was a huge misfire, as was the Stacey Dash move. This morning I read the background on why Stacey could have been funny, it just didn’t work. Chris should be eviscerated for the Asian kid joke, just as he eviscerated the Academy for their lack of diverse nominations. It was done in poor taste and Chris should know better.

I’m sorry, but the song performances sucked. Sam Smith, Lady Gaga, and The Weekend were horrible. That’s sad because I know they are all terrific performers. Plus, why didn’t the other two songs get their time in the spotlight? That was a bit odd to me.

The Hits

Jacob Tremblay standing in his seat to see R2-D2, BB-8, and C-3PO was the absolute highlight of the entire show for me. Once that happened, you could turn it off because nothing was going to top it.

I also thoroughly enjoyed Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe’s bit. Very funny interaction between the two left me wanting more. I predict a buddy cop movie starring the two of them hitting theaters in 2018.

Charlize Theron keeps reminding us just how insanely beautiful she is. She may be as close as God has ever come to perfection. I’ll bet money that she doesn’t sweat. Or fart.

oscars-red-carpet-2417-charlize-theron-superJumbo-v2

The Winners

I didn’t have a problem with any of the winners. Wins for Mark Rylance and Alicia Vikander were a bit of a surprise, but appeared to be well deserved. Mad Max: Fury Road cleaning up in the technical awards was totally expected. Anyone not expecting Leo to be rewarded for his years of top notch performances doesn’t know how the Academy works. Eventually Paul Giamatti will get his due in some less-than-stellar performance and we’ll be able to mark another “long overdue” item off our list.

The Losers

Who cares? They’re losers.

Actually, on a serious note, they all seemed very gracious and I wish them the best of luck next year.

2016 Oscars Review

It was a typical Oscars. Chris Rock was no Billy Crystal. People won stuff and will go home to their mansions.

The real question is, which actor or actress will never be heard from again? My money is on Brie Larson from “Room.” Although Mark Rylance may give her a run for her money.

That’s about it. I stayed up way too late watching a show that was pretty boring. Maybe I’ll enjoy the 2017 Oscars broadcast better when all of the nominees are of one minority or another.

